Harvest of Grain and Innocence

At twelve, Stella Young and Hana Sanada enrolled in the Stanton Academy for Humanity, where learning was hard, built character, imparted truth, justice, and morality for America’s youth. Students retitled the school Sustainable Farming on Steroids.

One day, the girls discovered the wartime journals of their two great-grandfathers, who served in WWII, and a wartime journal of Stella’s grandfather, who served in Vietnam. Now, many years after the wars ended, the girls began turning the journals into a book-length manuscript.

Their thoughts about the book’s themes changed abruptly. Stella’s father was an infantry captain, serving in Afghanistan. One evening, army officers arrived at her home to inform Olivia, her mother, and Stella, that their beloved husband and father had been killed in battle. This horrific news crushed their whole family.

The girls researched the deeply troubling “wrong wars” that the American government had committed her heroic soldiers to, since the start of the Vietnam war.

Years later, they watched news of America’s pullout from Afghanistan.

Now adults, Stella and Hana sized up what had gone so wrong with American government, its military, and society. They embarked on a mission to restore law and order, honor, morality, and integrity to the United States of America.

Adelyn's Adventure Series

Adelyn’s Adventure Series is a collection of storybooks for children of all ages.

Each book follows a young girl, Adelyn, as she explores nature and knows more and more about herself. 

Adelyn’s parents and grandparents gave her a solid foundation: to believe in herself, be curious, study the physical and social world and look to her family and the Holy Bible for guidance.

Life is a precious gift from God.  Each moment opens a door to endless choices.

Every Child’s Birthright

Author News

Available Storybooks

Where To Buy

Local Bookstores
In the Forest Hardbound
In the Forest Paperback
In the Garden Hardbound
In the Garden Paperback
On the Beach Hardbound
On the Beach Paperback

About the author

CHARLES BRUCKERHOFF started life in Augusta, Missouri in 1947, in a small clapboard house on the bluffs above The Big Muddy. He spent many days exploring the hills and valleys, fields and streams of the Ozark Mountain foothills.

At 19 he joined the United States Army and served in Vietnam. Returning to the USA in 1969, he went to college, studying English, literature, philosophy and research methods. In 1995, he created a firm, Curriculum Research and Evaluation, Inc. ( focused on the social and cultural life of poor children. He believes the best way to gain personal knowledge, social skills, moral behavior, spirituality and healing for children and adults is the real world, out the back door with friends.

Currently, Charles works as the author and publisher of Sequoia House Books. He also devotes time to shepherding the firm, now run by his lovely wife, Theresa, and to family life with four sons, six grandchildren, friends and neighbors. His hobbies include community service, artisan bread baking, gardening, traditional quilting, and studying American history, the Hebrew Bible and the New Testament. He places no limit on new adventures.

About Sequoia House Books

When the author visited Kings Canyon National Park in California, he came upon The Fallen Monarch among the Sierra Redwoods of Grant Grove. This giant tree was hollowed out by countless forest fires before falling to the forest floor hundreds of years ago. These trees live for 3,000 years or more, and can reach heights of 300 feet, and trunk diameters of 30 feet. 

Native American Indians lived in the region for 5,000 years. The Monaches tribe, lived in Kings Canyon, keeping their villages yearlong in the Sierra Nevada foothills, and summering in the forests. The Fallen Monarch was used as a temporary “house” from 1868 to 1878 and as a stable by the U.S. Cavalry from 1890 to 1914.

After its initial discovery by Europeans in 1794, botanists argued over what to name this magnificent gargantuan species of conifer. Eventually, they chose Sequoia, in honor of a Cherokee man, “Sequoyah,” for his enormously important achievement in 1821, of creating an alphabet for the Cherokee language. The noblest of trees in the world are thus named in honor of a Native American genius of Cherokee descent.

Sequoia House Books™ publishes original literature that imparts knowledge to children and adults, inspiring them to be the best they can be and preparing them to help make the world a better place for all living things.

Contact the author

237 Singleton Rd., Chaplin, CT 06235